Harry Johnson Award

Henry Arthur Johnson died on 28th June, 1988. The Trust lost a founder and most valued member. He was, until his retirement, the principal of Johnson Architects of Wadworth Hall, near Doncaster.

Harry qualified at the Bartlett School of Architecture, University of London, under the guidance of Sir Albert Richardson and was well versed in classical architecture. He contributed articles on country houses to the Transactions of The Thoroton Society; these included reports on Grove Hall (demolished 1952) and Osberton Hall.

In his work for the Trust, he could be relied upon to bring to each project the highest standards of taste and style in architecture, with deep practical knowledge. His manner was quiet and restrained but not the less authoritative for that.

Harry Johnson played a major role in the early days of the Trust.

The Harry Johnson Award was set up in his honour. The award was made each year for the best design of a new building, or the best restoration of an old building, within a village setting. Since 2004 the award has been given every two years and is run in conjunction with the Campaign to Protect Rural England (the CPRE).

Past winners of the award have been:

Restoration. The Watermill Barn, Linby. Dr. and Mrs. J.L. Hart.
The winners are shown receiving their award from Councillor J.H. Andrews, Deputy Mayor of Gedling Borough Council.
New. No award.

Restoration. The Old Vicarage, Kinoulton. The Old Vicarage, Granby.
New. No award.

Restoration. Conversion of malt store to dwelling, Frog’s Leap, Church Laneham.
New. Women’s Institute Building, Butt Field, East Bridgford.

Restoration. The Old School, Awsworth.
New. Bungalows, Upton.

Restoration. The Windmill at Tuxford.
New. No award.

Restoration. Derelict farm buildings to The Buttercross Veterinary Centre, Long Acre, Bingham.
New. Elderly persons flats & bungalows, Negus Court, Cromwell Crescent, Lambley.

Restoration. Boughton Village Hall.
New. No award.

Restoration. The Watermill, Ollerton.
New. Cottages, Lexington Court, Laxton.

Restoration. The Windmill, Eakring.
New. Changing Rooms, Boughton and Ollerton.

Restoration. The Stables, Grange Court, Ruddington.
New. No award.

Restoration. The Village Museum, Flintham.
New. The Medical Centre, East Bridgford.

Restoration. Conversion of Farm Buildings to Tea Room/Gift Shop, Bingham Road, Cotgrave.
New. St Michael’s Cottage/Steeple View, Sutton Bonington.

Restoration. The Barns and Farmhouse, Ridge Farm, Elton.
New. No award.

Restoration. 36 Church Street, Kirkby-in-Ashfield.
New. Wheelwrights Barn, Hill Road, Orston.

Restoration. Flora Barn, Main Street, Hoveringham.
New. Rear Extension, Flora Barn, Main Street, Hoveringham.

Restoration. Colston Bassett Store, Colston Bassett.
New. No award.

After 2004 it was decided to run the awards on a biannual basis.

Restoration. Joint Award to Ranter’s Farm, 103 Station Street, Misterton and 62 Castlegate, Newark.
New. No award.

Restoration. The White Cottage, Misson.
New. No award.

Restoration. The Coach House, Orston.
New. Thomas Cranmer Centre, Aslockton.

Restoration. The Old Pumphouse, The Ropewalk, Nottingham.
New. Healy’s Wharf, Newark.

Restoration. Orchard Cottages, Epperstone.
New. The Court, Epperstone.

Restoration. Turncroft Farm, Edingley.
New. Wright’s Place, Keyworth.

Restoration. Becher’s Court, The Burgage, Southwell.
New. Dwellings, Jude Park, East Markham.