The Nottinghamshire Building Preservation Trust was founded in February 1967, following the passing of the Civic Amenities Act, which established the concept of Conservation Areas in the town and countryside. 

Prominent members of the Trust have included Prof. Maurice Barley, Harry Johnson, Ernest Lester, Jack Lowe, John Severn, Dr. Norman Summers and Keith Train.

The Trust was set up with a £4000 grant from the County Council, with subscriptions of £2000 from Local Authorities and other income from companies and individuals including Courtaulds Limited, Vic Hallam Limited, The Home Brewery Company Limited, The North Notts. Gravel Company Limited and Skills Motor Coaches Limited.

In its early days, the Trust gave grants to the owners of historic buildings, plus free advice. These grants were intended to cover the extra over costs of carrying out the most desirable restoration as opposed to the cheapest job.  In 1979 the Trust stopped giving grants due to a cutback in funding, but resumed giving small grants at the request of the County Council in 1982.  In 1985 the Trust were able to give small grants, but only in exceptional cases.

In 1974, the Trust faced a new challenge.  A group of Stockingers’ Cottages at Windles Square, Calverton were due for demolition by the then District Council.  These cottages were part of the history of Calverton and had enlarged windows where local textile workers had their looms as they worked from home.

The Trust bought the cottages and restored them to a high standard, gaining a Heritage Year Award during European Heritage Year and later selling the restored and upgraded dwellings to the newly created Gedling Borough Council as part of its housing stock.

The profit made from this transaction formed the basis of the Revolving Fund which is now the cutting edge of the Trust’s activities.  This involves, when all other means have failed, the purchase of historic buildings which are at risk from neglect or development and their repair and restoration.  The next stage is to carry out a feasibility study to determine the possibilities of repair and restoration and to find an on-going sustainable new use for the building.  The Trust can obtain grants and low-interest loans from the Government-funded Architectural Heritage Fund based in London.

The restored building is then sold and any profit ploughed back into the Revolving Fund.

The Trust has successfully restored many buildings, both in the City and in the wider County.

However, a new role for the Trust has recently emerged and this is as an “enabler” or catalyst to spur others into making decisions on the future of threatened buildings. Historic structures became economically viable when the Trust displayed interest in them and exposed this interest as positive action.

Trust involvement has resulted in developers suddenly taking an interest in threatened buildings such as Lockeepers Cottage and Wharf Cafe, Newark where these buildings have been renovated and found new business uses.

Officers of the Trust


Cllr. A. E. Lester JP 1967 – 1976
Mrs. I. M. Skirving JP 1976 – 1977
Prof. M. W. Barley MA FSA FR HISTS 1977 – 1987
Cllr. F. Higgins 1987 – 1990
Cllr. R. P. Gilbert 1990 – 1995
Mr. M. E. Adlington 1995 – 2002
Mrs. M. Hall 2002 – 2004
Mr. S. Squires 2004
Miss. S. Summers 2004 – 2009
Cllr. Mrs. M. Stockwood 2009 – 2018
Cllr. P. Duncan 2018 – 2019
Mr. D. D. Atkins 2019 –                                                                                                                                                                       


Mr. G. Boylin JP (Sec/Treas) 1967 – 1974
Mr. J. Hammond 1974 – 1977
Mr. R. Middleton 1977 – 1981
Mr. G. Turner 1981 – 2008
Mr. D. D. Atkins 2008 – 2019
Mr. A. J. Wahlers 2019 –


Mr. G. Boylin JP (Sec/Treas) 1967 – 1974
Mr. J. Farrer, IPFA, FRVA 1974 – 2005
Mr. L. Barlow 2005 – 2006
Mrs. M. Stockwood 2007 – 2008
Mrs. D. McGowan 2008 – 2012
Mr. P. Duncan 2012 – 2013
Mr. D. Atkins 2013 – 2016
Mr. J. N. Dawson 2016 –


Mr. A. R. Davis CBE DL 1967 – 1974
Mr. J. Hammond 1974 – 1990
Mr. A. Sandford LLB 1977 – 1981
Mr. C. P. McKay MA 1990 – 1994


Mr. H. A. Johnson FRIBA 1967 – 1975
Dr. N. Summers AADipl FRIBA AILA 1967 – 1976


Mr. W. H. Lake FIMTA 1967 – 1970
Mr. A. Grundy FCA 1970 – 1974
Mr. G. E. Daniel FCA IPFA FRVA 1974 – 1981
Mr. P. McGowan FCA 1981 – 1991
Mr. J. N. G. Howitt 1991 – 2013
Community Accounting Plus 2013 –


Cllr. R.P. Gilbert 1995 – 2003

last update: 8th January, 2020