Former Members

Prominent Former Trust Members

black and white photo of clean shaven man

Jack Lowe

Jack Lowe the County Director of Planning from 1964 to 74 was a founding member of the Trust.  Jack saw the NBPT as a vehicle to channel new grants from county and district councils towards the conservation of ordinary houses.

black and white photo of man in suit with glasses

Ernest Lester J.P.

Councillor A.E. Lester was a founder of the Trust and its first Chairman (1967 to 1976).   His 9 year chairmanship is reported to have been under taken “with great vigour and humour”.

Black and white photo of side view of man with glasses and white hair

Dr.Norman Summers

One of the Trust’s original members who played a key role in establishing both the character of the work of the Trust and the high standards for which it became respected.

a black and white photo of a man sat behind a sek with a book and pipe, he has a dark suit and white hair and beard

Maurice Barley

A former chairman of the Trust, Maurice Barley remained a member of the Management Committee of the Trust until his death in 1991.

black and white photo of man in dark suit with pale hair

Harry Johnson

The Architect Henry ‘Harry’ Johnson played a major role in the early days of the Trust.  He brought the highest standards of taste and style in architecture along with a deep practical knowledge. His manner was quiet and restrained but still authoritative. The Harry Johnson Award was set up in his honour.

a photo of a woman with short grey hair and sunglasses in a black top and a pear necklace

Imogen Skirving

Imogen Skirving of Langar Hall took over the Chair of the Trust from Ernest Lester in 1976.  “Imogen was a jolly, energetic chair with boundless enthusiasm for caring and preserving the beautiful buildings of all sizes which go to make the character of our county”.  -Graham Beaumont

Past Trustees and Officers

The NBPT’s trustees and officers since 1967 are listed here.


Cllr. A. E. Lester JP 1967 – 1976
Mrs. I. M. Skirving JP 1976 – 1977
Prof. M. W. Barley MA FSA FR HISTS 1977 – 1987
Cllr. F. Higgins 1987 – 1990
Cllr. R. P. Gilbert 1990 – 1995
Mr. M. E. Adlington 1995 – 2002
Mrs. M. Hall 2002 – 2004
Mr. S. Squires 2004
Miss. S. Summers 2004 – 2009
Cllr. Mrs. M. Stockwood 2009 – 2018
Cllr. P. Duncan 2018 – 2019
Mr. D. D. Atkins 2019 –     


Mr. G. Boylin JP (Sec/Treas) 1967 – 1974
Mr. J. Hammond 1974 – 1977
Mr. R. Middleton 1977 – 1981
Mr. G. Turner 1981 – 2008
Mr. D. D. Atkins 2008 – 2019
Mr. A. J. Wahlers 2019 –


Mr. G. Boylin JP (Sec/Treas) 1967 – 1974
Mr. J. Farrer, IPFA, FRVA 1974 – 2005
Mr. L. Barlow 2005 – 2006
Mrs. M. Stockwood 2007 – 2008
Mrs. D. McGowan 2008 – 2012
Mr. P. Duncan 2012 – 2013
Mr. D. Atkins 2013 – 2016
Mr. J. N. Dawson 2016 –


Mr. A. R. Davis CBE DL 1967 – 1974
Mr. J. Hammond 1974 – 1990
Mr. A. Sandford LLB 1977 – 1981
Mr. C. P. McKay MA 1990 – 1994


Mr. H. A. Johnson FRIBA 1967 – 1975
Dr. N. Summers AADipl FRIBA AILA 1967 – 1976


Mr. W. H. Lake FIMTA 1967 – 1970
Mr. A. Grundy FCA 1970 – 1974
Mr. G. E. Daniel FCA IPFA FRVA 1974 – 1981
Mr. P. McGowan FCA 1981 – 1991
Mr. J. N. G. Howitt 1991 – 2013
Community Accounting Plus 2013 –


Cllr. R.P. Gilbert 1995 – 2003

If you are looking for the current council, please click the link below instead.