Harry Johnson Awards

Application Information and Judgement Criteria

Nominations are now invited for our biennial Awards in the 2 categories of Best Restoration of a Historic Building and Best New Design.

Application Information

All may apply, be they architects, builders, local councils, societies or trusts and individuals for buildings that have been completed within the last 2 years. Owners’ permission will be required for an online submission before 31st July with photos and a brief description which can be submitted through the form at the bottom of the page. There is an entry charge of £25 for individual entries and £50 for business/corporate entries.

A site visit will be required in September and finalists will be contacted to make appropriate arrangements.

Judgment Criteria

  • Restoration – Restoration of original materials
    • Re-instatement of Original Features
    • Authenticity
    • Quality
    • Sympathetic innovation where appropriate
  • New Build – Traditional OR  Contemporary design
    • Harmonious integration with existing streetscape
    • Use of local materials
    • Quality            
    •  Best environmental standards